Wednesday, November 6th, 2019

Voters elect 2 new members to Coldwater council

By Sydney Albert
COLDWATER - Two newcomers topped a five-candidate field Tuesday to be chosen for the Coldwater Village Council, according to the unofficial election results.
Charmaine Bettinger, 52, and Tim Buschur, 54, won the two open council seats, beating candidates Brad Niekamp, 38, Dan Rose, 55, and Michael Winner, 64.
Bettinger received 538 votes, or 27.1% of the total 1,985 votes cast; Buschur received 528 votes, or 26.6%; Niekamp received 393 votes, or 19.8%; Winner received 307 votes, or 15.5%; and Rose received 219 votes, or 11%.
Buschur told the newspaper Tuesday night that he appreciated the votes of Coldwater residents and that he looks forward to serving on village council, saying it would be a different experience for him.
He hoped that with his background working as director of Tri Star Career Compact and working with local schools that he would be able to assist with handling the village's funding.
Bettinger could not be reached Tuesday night for comment.
Additional online stories on this date
CELINA - Two incumbents and a newcomer secured three open seats on Celina City Council on Election Day.
Veteran legislators Mike Sovinski, a Republ [More]
NEW BREMEN - Voters on Tuesday elected Robert D. Parker as the first new mayor of New Bremen in 16 years after the announced retirement of longtime mayor Jeff Pape. [More]
ROCKFORD - Two newcomers ousted an incumbent in the tightly contested race to fill two seats on Parkway Local Schools Board of Education during Tuesday's general election. [More]
FORT RECOVERY - The Fort Recovery school board has three freshly elected members joining the ranks according to unofficial results.
Newcomers Anne [More]
Subscriber only stories on this date
Celina board members keep seats
Minster could approve funds to fix curbs
Merchants prepare for open house
Rockford water tower needs replacement
Incumbents win Coldwater school board race
Bridge to be closed for repairs
Funding to continue for Mercer County Home
Kahlig re-elected trustee
Rockford mayor re-elected by wide margin
St. Henry says yes to aggregation
Chickasaw levy passes
Zuma tax levy for streetlights passes
Mercer, Auglaize voters back numerous levies
Marion Local school levy passes
McGowan remains St. Marys mayor
Valentine denied seat on St. Marys school board
Koverman stays on St. Marys council
Celina voters say yes to liquor option
Rockford library levy passes
Hard work & hugs
Rockets fall in opener
Mind, Body, Soul
2019 Election results